Chance Converter ??

One of the most critical areas of a automatic race car

Moderator: Marty Chance

Post Reply
Message
Author
bracketracer
Posts: 329
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2008 7:14 pm
Location: New Jersey

Chance Converter ??

#1 Post by bracketracer » Fri Oct 15, 2010 8:38 am

Well guys Marty came through and my converter arrived Thursday!!! Oh and I just called him Monday morning :shock: ......Anyway my question is that all the other converters I have had always had a bolt and nut to attach them to the flex plate but the Chance converter has threaded tabs. Do you guys lock tight them?
I tell you that this converter looks sweet!!!!!!!!Thanks guys and Marty for great service!!

User avatar
Marty Chance
Posts: 193
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2008 6:34 am
Location: Cheney, KS

Re: Chance Converter ??

#2 Post by Marty Chance » Fri Oct 15, 2010 9:03 am

You still need to use a nut with the bolt. the threads in the converter pad serve as a "jam" to the nut and keep them from backing off. Let me know how the converter works once you try it. Marty
Neal Chance Racing Converters
Home of the World's Fastest Automatic Doorslammers!
www.racingconverters.com

User avatar
Mike Peters
Posts: 930
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2005 1:48 pm
Location: Wichita, KS

Re: Chance Converter ??

#3 Post by Mike Peters » Fri Oct 15, 2010 11:10 am

Congratulations on the upgrade. Marty builds the best in the business. :thumb:
"If winning was easy, losers would be doing it"

bracketracer
Posts: 329
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2008 7:14 pm
Location: New Jersey

Re: Chance Converter ??

#4 Post by bracketracer » Fri Oct 15, 2010 11:59 am

Thanks Marty, Mike.......But UPS here again and dropped off 3 aluminum tabs and allen screws....Help......

User avatar
Mike Peters
Posts: 930
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2005 1:48 pm
Location: Wichita, KS

Re: Chance Converter ??

#5 Post by Mike Peters » Fri Oct 15, 2010 12:15 pm

bracketracer wrote:Thanks Marty, Mike.......But UPS here again and dropped off 3 aluminum tabs and allen screws....Help......
You lost me there. Is the converter a 3 leg or 6 leg? Would the tabs be spacers for a midplate?
"If winning was easy, losers would be doing it"

bracketracer
Posts: 329
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2008 7:14 pm
Location: New Jersey

Re: Chance Converter ??

#6 Post by bracketracer » Fri Oct 15, 2010 1:03 pm

three leg....Looks like a spacer

User avatar
Mike Peters
Posts: 930
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2005 1:48 pm
Location: Wichita, KS

Re: Chance Converter ??

#7 Post by Mike Peters » Fri Oct 15, 2010 2:19 pm

bracketracer wrote:three leg....Looks like a spacer
If those are spacers, they're for any additional thickness created by your midplate.
"If winning was easy, losers would be doing it"

bracketracer
Posts: 329
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2008 7:14 pm
Location: New Jersey

Re: Chance Converter ??

#8 Post by bracketracer » Fri Oct 15, 2010 10:27 pm

You know it would have been nice if there was some instructions in the box with the converter :scratch: ...There is no way to get those spacers on the converter when the motors in the car :pissed: !!!!!!!

Just to let you know that just about any other converter that I have purchased after it's in you shim according lee with washers..Now the way I have done it cause washer don't ever come the same thickness I find what I need mic them and go from there....

User avatar
John_Heard
Site Admin
Posts: 5683
Joined: Thu May 12, 2005 11:20 am
Location: Resume Speed, Kansas
Contact:

Re: Chance Converter ??

#9 Post by John_Heard » Sat Oct 16, 2010 6:25 am

You can use washers like you've done in the past for now... Once you figure out what the spacer thickness needs to be, you can machine the spacers you have to the exact thickness you need. Then, next time you've got the converter out, take the washers out and screw the spacers to the converter and you won't have to mess with the washers next time.

The spacers are just a handy deal to replace the washers once you know what thickness you need.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest