getting drunk maybe I'lltryalcoholhave????s

Bench Racing - Misc. Discussions

Moderator: John_Heard

bottlesempty

getting drunk maybe I'lltryalcoholhave????s

#1 Post by bottlesempty » Tue Mar 02, 2010 11:58 pm

I run a11.25:1compression 406 on pump gas before the stroke I swappedthe 3310 750vacuum secondarycarb for a loaner 850 mechanical secondary barry grant carb and pickedup 8tenths in1/4mile my uncle spoke with my wifee about converting his nova to alcohol In response my wife offered to purchase me an alcoholcarb what are the benefits of alcohol vs gasoline ismethanol alcohol specs on carb say calibrated for methanolcan you spray nitrous with methanol does alcohol require higher cfm carb than gas for an application my motor ran so much better in upper rpm with 850 the methanol carb wifey found is950cfm would that work ok my combo is listed in this forum under topiOne more passtime for the kid is this 950ncarb compatable I have no experience with alcohol Iwas told it will make my car leave like a beast is it worth converting to run methanol is methanol alcohol?

HPDRIFTER

Re: getting drunk maybe I'lltryalcoholhave????s

#2 Post by HPDRIFTER » Wed Mar 03, 2010 10:47 am

Here's about all I know about alcohol, in just a couple of lines:
You will need about twice the volume of alcohol that you do gasoline, so you have to have a fuel system that will feed it.
A common problem with switching to alcohol on a carburated motor is it leaning out on the top end. The logical thing to do is to richen the secondaries with bigger jets. This is where guys start pulling their hair, because the problem just gets worse. What's really happening is the fuel bowls are running dry because the bigger jets required for alcohol pull more liquid out of the bowl than the neddle valve can let in to replace it.

Three solutions that I know of:
1) Multiple carbs. A whole other set of problems.
2) Fuel injection. $$$s