How difficult is it to learn to TIG?

Fabrication, Welding, Shop Tools, Tips & Techniques

Moderator: John_Heard

John_Heard
Site Admin

How difficult is it to learn to TIG?

#1 Post by John_Heard » Fri Oct 02, 2009 12:15 pm

You guys that have taught yourself how to TIG, how long did it take you to start laying down some nice welds and sound joints? Something you would feel safe to use on the race car?

Did you take any formal training, or have somebody teach you?

mytmouz

Re: How difficult is it to learn to TIG?

#2 Post by mytmouz » Fri Oct 02, 2009 1:46 pm

I picked mine up on the job. Easier to me than stick welding by far. I was comfortable with it in a very short time...
Trucks are for haulin...

CoMax Racing

#3 Post by CoMax Racing » Fri Oct 02, 2009 2:29 pm

I usually like to read more than post but seeing as I have been a journeyman welder for 20 yrs I would like to give my 2 cents. When I learned how to tig weld the machines were very basic without a lot of features (slope, wave adjustments,crater fill,pulse etc) this made getting a good bead something you had to put a lot of time into. Now the new machines have a lot of features that make learning a lot easier. A friend of mine just bought a Lincoln tig and he was laying down beads in a week that looked like beads that took me 20yrs to learn. :nutkick:

Basically, there is only one way to learn, get a machine and start melting metal. Tig used to be a something everybody said was "very hard to learn" The new machines make it a lot easier.

Maybe go rent one and play for a while,then you can decide if you want to keep at it.

Good Luck :thumb:

Corey

DOTracer

#4 Post by DOTracer » Fri Oct 02, 2009 5:35 pm

Hey John,

I am a so called self taught welder. I purchased a Lincoln Squarewave 175 Pro probably 8 to 10 years ago. My first project was building a welding cart to hold the welder. There's some books out there to help understand the technique basics as well as videos on Youtube.