MSD Can-bus Data

Discussion on Data Loggers, how to read your logs, what to improve, etc.

Moderator: RPM

Post Reply
Message
Author
User avatar
Craig W.
Posts: 1254
Joined: Thu May 12, 2005 11:01 am
Location: Columbia, KY
Contact:

MSD Can-bus Data

#1 Post by Craig W. » Tue Dec 23, 2014 6:27 pm

Has anyone figured out how to get the data from the Grid into a non-Racepak datalogger? I'm thinking of going to the Grid and would love to get the Can-bus from it talking to the Can-bus in the AEM logger. AEM is looking into it for me but thought I'd do some digging on my own as well.
Craig Watson
2QuickNovas Racing
5.27@130

Sponsors:
AEM Electronics
Carnivore Performance
Bradco Converters
Rapp Racing
VFN Fiberglass

User avatar
John_Heard
Site Admin
Posts: 5683
Joined: Thu May 12, 2005 11:20 am
Location: Resume Speed, Kansas
Contact:

Re: MSD Can-bus Data

#2 Post by John_Heard » Wed Dec 24, 2014 7:05 am

I wonder if the can-bus works on the same specifications as regular OEM can-bus stuff? Seems like a lot of data going across those lines.

User avatar
Craig W.
Posts: 1254
Joined: Thu May 12, 2005 11:01 am
Location: Columbia, KY
Contact:

Re: MSD Can-bus Data

#3 Post by Craig W. » Wed Dec 24, 2014 7:47 am

I believe it is standard can-bus 2.0.
Craig Watson
2QuickNovas Racing
5.27@130

Sponsors:
AEM Electronics
Carnivore Performance
Bradco Converters
Rapp Racing
VFN Fiberglass

RPM
Posts: 50
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2005 9:47 am
Location: Oklahoma City
Contact:

Re: MSD Can-bus Data

#4 Post by RPM » Wed Dec 24, 2014 9:07 am

In order to read the Grid, the programmer would need detailed information from MSD regarding the instructions and data format. Since MSD owns Racepak, that information will probably not be released to competitors. Unless that is made available, you will need to download the Grid seperately. What information do you want from the Grid that is not available on your data logger?

User avatar
Craig W.
Posts: 1254
Joined: Thu May 12, 2005 11:01 am
Location: Columbia, KY
Contact:

Re: MSD Can-bus Data

#5 Post by Craig W. » Wed Dec 24, 2014 2:56 pm

I'd like to overlay my retard curves and other ignition info. The rest of the data would be redundant.
Craig Watson
2QuickNovas Racing
5.27@130

Sponsors:
AEM Electronics
Carnivore Performance
Bradco Converters
Rapp Racing
VFN Fiberglass

RPM
Posts: 50
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2005 9:47 am
Location: Oklahoma City
Contact:

Re: MSD Can-bus Data

#6 Post by RPM » Wed Dec 24, 2014 5:25 pm

You can read the actual ignition timing with a tach timing module from Electrimotion.com. The timing line from the grid shows what it was supposed to be. (If everything is ok, they will be the same) The module will output an analog signal that can be read into your data logger.

User avatar
Craig W.
Posts: 1254
Joined: Thu May 12, 2005 11:01 am
Location: Columbia, KY
Contact:

Re: MSD Can-bus Data

#7 Post by Craig W. » Wed Dec 24, 2014 6:06 pm

Thanks for the tip. Sounds like what I need. I appreciate the help.
Craig Watson
2QuickNovas Racing
5.27@130

Sponsors:
AEM Electronics
Carnivore Performance
Bradco Converters
Rapp Racing
VFN Fiberglass

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest