Benefits of a Vacuum Pump

General Engine Discussion

Moderator: John_Heard

fourtenposi

Benefits of a Vacuum Pump

#1 Post by fourtenposi » Wed Jan 09, 2008 5:44 pm

Just curious what benefits do you gain by running a vacuum pump? Why does it actually make better power? How does it help the ring seat?

Also I am curious to here hp/et gains that people have gained. I have one coming and I am hoping that it will help seal up a loss motor. Also any tips to using one will greatly be appreciated. I am new to running one. What vacuum should I be looking for. SBC 406, 11-1 compression, about 500hp

Thanks

Mike Peters

#2 Post by Mike Peters » Thu Jan 10, 2008 6:42 am

Check the Racing Articles column on the DragStuff home page where is says "The Pros and Cons of Racing Vacuum Pumps". That might be a good place to find the info you're seeking. :wink:
"If winning was easy, losers would be doing it"

John_Heard
Site Admin

#3 Post by John_Heard » Thu Jan 10, 2008 7:43 am

Here's a link to that article - http://www.dragstuff.com/techarticles/vacuum-pumps.html

On a side note, a lot of people overlook the articles we've been loading up in the tech section - http://www.dragstuff.com/techarticles/index.html
You might want to take a look, there's some good stuff in there...

Stickshifter 55

#4 Post by Stickshifter 55 » Fri Jan 11, 2008 11:47 am

When I first built my car I used a Ford smog pump as my crank case vacuum pump. I drilled and tapped the housing for the intake and covered the original intake opening with epoxy. Later when I was forced to remove the pump, I did not notice any power loss or gain after however I had all typed of oil leaks. One at the distributor base, the valve covers, and the corner of the oil pan rings a bell. I added the electric smog pump but it didn’t stop any leaks.

Stickshifter 55

#5 Post by Stickshifter 55 » Fri Jan 11, 2008 12:00 pm

Very informative tech article on the vacuum pump. I like this part the best: