fuel pressure settings

General Nitrous Discussion

Moderator: John_Heard

drummondracing
Location: Colonial Beach VA If I am not at home or the track then I am probably at HOOTERS

fuel pressure settings

#1 Post by drummondracing » Fri Dec 22, 2006 11:15 am

I have been reading these post over and over and you learn something new everyday. I have a non adjustable 125 plate on my luv, so do i need to.......

1. adjust my fuel pressure with the pump running and the fuel solenoid on? do i leave the fuel line attached to the carb while doing this? i have the f.p. set a 7# now just with everything hooked up and the pump on is this too much ?

2. i am running one regulator one side to the carb the other to the nitrous, it this still acceptable i have been using this setup for about 3 years trouble free

3. I generally take 6 degrees of timing out. are you saying that by setting the f.p. flowing i mignt be able to put more timing back in?

4.will adjusting the fuel pressure flowing affect the carb?

thanks for your help guys
74 chevy luv 355 sbc bracket car
70 Nova SS bracket / t.n.t car.
(Yes REAL SS 396 DISCS 12B0LT ETC)

WANTED DEAD OR ALIVE 68-74 NOVAS

TOO MUCH IS NOT ENOUGH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

rustbucket

#2 Post by rustbucket » Fri Dec 22, 2006 2:11 pm

I have a extra plate that I put my jets in, stick the thing in a 5 gallon bucket, turn it on and adjust the regulator for 5 to 5.5 pounds. You could take your plate off and do the same thing. Im not sure if you can accuratly set the right pressure being that your carb probably wants more fuel than your n2o.
Also your fuel demand would not be their unless your carb was wide open. I would suggest a 1/2 t fitting and a extra regulator. Im no expert being that I cant make my own car run right on the bottle but maybe it was some help.
406sbc, powerglide, nitrous
http://youtube.com/watch?v=DssW5vc_t3k

John_Heard
Site Admin

Re: fuel pressure settings

#3 Post by John_Heard » Fri Dec 22, 2006 3:42 pm