Autogage Tachs

General Gauges, Wiring, Ignition..

Moderator: John_Heard

Message
Author
User avatar
sc racing
Posts: 1773
Joined: Sun Jun 11, 2006 1:45 pm
Location: Sahuartia Az

Re: Autogage Tachs

#16 Post by sc racing » Wed Mar 24, 2010 11:02 pm

From MSD's site:
Tachometer Operation
If your tachometer doesn't read correctly after installing an MSD, you may need a Tach Adapter. On GM vehicles, first remove the tach filter. There are two MSD Tach Adapters. The chart below displays the most common Tach Adapter options:
Aftermarket Tachometers White Wire Trigger Magnetic Trigger Connector
Autogage 8910 8920
Autometer None None
Classic 8910 8920
Dixco 8910 8920
Faria 8910 8920
Ford Motorsports None None
Mallory None None
Medallion 8910 8920
Moroso None None
Stewart Warner 8910 8920
S.W. & Bi Torx None None
Sun 8910 8920
Veglia Borletti 8910 8920
VDO 8910 8920

Factory Tachometers White Wire Trigger Magnetic Trigger Connector
AMC (Jeep) See Note #1 - 8910 See Note #1 - 8920
Chrysler 8910 8920
Ford (Before 1976) See Note #1 - 8910 See Note #1 - 8920
Ford (After 1976) See Note #2 - 8910 See Note #2 - 8920
General Motors See Note #3 See Note #3
Imports See Note #1 - 8910 See Note #1 - 8920

User avatar
hugger73hatch
Posts: 360
Joined: Sun Oct 21, 2007 10:42 pm

Re: Autogage Tachs

#17 Post by hugger73hatch » Fri Apr 02, 2010 8:36 pm

I run an Autogage 5" with shift light and MSD 6AL and Pro Billet Distributor and some to think of it some times my tach has a little "flicker" in it where it appears to skip. I think I may need that adapter.
73 Nova Hatchback, 408 Small Block 13-1, Iron Heads, 6.972 @ 98.362, 1.468 60', 3450 lbs, still tuning
28 x 9 Slick, N/A

http://www.esquireservices.net

User avatar
Craig W.
Posts: 1257
Joined: Thu May 12, 2005 11:01 am
Location: Columbia, KY
Contact:

Re: Autogage Tachs

#18 Post by Craig W. » Fri Apr 02, 2010 9:03 pm

I've got an old Autogage tach in our Chevy II and its sort of "bouncy". Doesn't seem to handle dynamic situations very well. The newer ones may be much better, but I think I'd prefer a higher end Autometer. That's what I have in the race car.
Craig Watson
2QuickNovas Racing
5.23@131

Sponsors:
AEM Electronics
Carnivore Performance
Rapp Racing
VFN Fiberglass
Fast Shafts

User avatar
sc racing
Posts: 1773
Joined: Sun Jun 11, 2006 1:45 pm
Location: Sahuartia Az

Re: Autogage Tachs

#19 Post by sc racing » Fri Apr 02, 2010 9:58 pm

hugger73hatch wrote:I run an Autogage 5" with shift light and MSD 6AL and Pro Billet Distributor and some to think of it some times my tach has a little "flicker" in it where it appears to skip. I think I may need that adapter.
Usually they are just off in rpm or react slow.Autometer must have upgaded their Autogage line since I used to have the store it has been almost 6 years now. Wow how time flys.

User avatar
Speedster
Posts: 183
Joined: Mon Feb 08, 2010 2:35 pm
Location: Aloha, Oregon

Re: Autogage Tachs

#20 Post by Speedster » Thu Apr 08, 2010 8:44 pm

I had a autogage tach with msd6al box and it was off so i took it back and got another one and it did the same thing so i bought a autometer monster tach and no problem?
I wonder if it was that box thingy you were talking about?
the autogage would read 500rpm's at idle and i knew it was up over 1000 rpms.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest