Rotary Postion Encoder

Discussion on Data Loggers, how to read your logs, what to improve, etc.

Moderator: RPM

Post Reply
Message
Author
User avatar
CoMax Racing
Posts: 169
Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2005 4:40 pm
Location: Edmonton Alberta Canada

Rotary Postion Encoder

#1 Post by CoMax Racing » Thu Oct 08, 2009 3:09 pm

Does anybody have a photo of an RPM Perf rotary position encoder installed on a shock?


Thanks
Corey :smt001

User avatar
wikd69
Posts: 2068
Joined: Sat Feb 23, 2008 12:42 pm
Location: Rocklin, CA
Contact:

Re: Rotary Postion Encoder

#2 Post by wikd69 » Thu Oct 08, 2009 5:30 pm

You have RPM Perf rotary position encoders installed on your socks ? Now *that* is what I call getting downright serious !!!! :lol: :lol: :smt003 :smt003 ;)
1969 ProStreet Camaro RS Best 9.75@139 1.46 60'
Blown 427 BBC, TH400 w/Brake, Back-Half Ladderbar
Narrowed 12-Bolt, 4.10 Gears, Spool, Moser 33 Spline

http://www.marsh-racing.com/harrys_camaro-1.htm

User avatar
John_Heard
Site Admin
Posts: 5707
Joined: Thu May 12, 2005 11:20 am
Location: Resume Speed, Kansas
Contact:

Re: Rotary Postion Encoder

#3 Post by John_Heard » Thu Oct 08, 2009 5:37 pm

I don't have any on my socks, or shocks, but I have played around with one on my anti-roll bar. It shows down track bumps and stuff. Plus at launch you can see the car hit the tire and when the weight goes back on the rear.

User avatar
CoMax Racing
Posts: 169
Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2005 4:40 pm
Location: Edmonton Alberta Canada

Re: Rotary Postion Encoder

#4 Post by CoMax Racing » Thu Oct 08, 2009 5:39 pm

I looked at my post. I typed "shock" as in shock absorber :mrgreen:

Corey :thumb:

User avatar
CoMax Racing
Posts: 169
Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2005 4:40 pm
Location: Edmonton Alberta Canada

Re: Rotary Postion Encoder

#5 Post by CoMax Racing » Thu Oct 08, 2009 5:44 pm

The reason I ask this is, I have been talking to Randy via email and he says he has the linear type sensor, or a rotary postion type. He also said the rotary type looks "jury rigged". My opinion is if they do the job I don't really care what they look like, but if someone has one installed somewhere I wouldn't mind seeing it before I decide to use them.


Corey :D

User avatar
wikd69
Posts: 2068
Joined: Sat Feb 23, 2008 12:42 pm
Location: Rocklin, CA
Contact:

Re: Rotary Postion Encoder

#6 Post by wikd69 » Thu Oct 08, 2009 6:32 pm

CoMax Racing wrote:I looked at my post. I typed "shock" as in shock absorber :mrgreen:

Corey :thumb:
I know. I was interjecting a bit of humor. :mrgreen:

Note that I didn't say it was good humor.

You should be happy I deleted the bit I came up with about the various sensors you would need for brief and jockey underwear configurations. :thumb: :lol: :mrgreen:
1969 ProStreet Camaro RS Best 9.75@139 1.46 60'
Blown 427 BBC, TH400 w/Brake, Back-Half Ladderbar
Narrowed 12-Bolt, 4.10 Gears, Spool, Moser 33 Spline

http://www.marsh-racing.com/harrys_camaro-1.htm

User avatar
John_Heard
Site Admin
Posts: 5707
Joined: Thu May 12, 2005 11:20 am
Location: Resume Speed, Kansas
Contact:

Re: Rotary Postion Encoder

#7 Post by John_Heard » Thu Oct 08, 2009 8:57 pm

Well it works, and if you don't care what it looks like you have your answer. The linear style would probably take less thought in how to mount it up however.

bracketracer
Posts: 329
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2008 7:14 pm
Location: New Jersey

Re: Rotary Postion Encoder

#8 Post by bracketracer » Sat Oct 24, 2009 8:04 pm

Here's what I have and have had no issues with it and been on there for 2 years now...
Image

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest